Inquiry

I wrote in the Spring that I would start a new job at Washington International School (WIS) in the District of Columbia. The move would offer me new learning opportunities and a return to working with international students and educators. It would also offer new topics for what I share in this blog and on the Edtech Co-Op podcast. So here is some of my learning as things get rolling at WIS.

The Primary Years Programme of the International Baccalaureate (IB) is new as I only have experience with the high school diploma curriculum. After spending many years in elementary schools working to develop a curriculum, I found the holy grail with the PYP as I spent much of my summer reading about the program. I now see the PYP in action and look forward to sharing my learning as the year progresses.

So, if you are already a PYP teacher, I will present much of what you already know. However, the Washington International School’s take on the PYP might offer new ideas. I will record podcasts and videos with our teachers as they teach the PYP and in several languages, as WIS is a total immersion, dual language school. I am told that not all PYP schools teach the entire curriculum in the second and local languages.

If you are new to the PYP and are looking for a fully developed curriculum built around interdisciplinary units focusing on inquiry, learning goals based upon big ideas/concepts in UbD-developed units, transdisciplinary skills, global awareness, and many habits of mind, then get ready to learn with me.

Now, look at the photo at the top of the post. It is a display that can be found when you walk into the school, the hallways, and the teacher lounge. It lists all the units of inquiry by grade level. One could not ask for a more direct and validating reminder to students, parents, and staff members of what we teach at the primary school.

Here are a couple of close-ups for Grade 3 and 5 start-of-the-year units of study.

GR3

GR5